Finally the BIG Apple – iPhone 6 and 6+

iPhone 6 all

 

Since last 2-3 years, phone sizes have increased considerably with phones like Galaxy Notes and Nokia Lumias. Larger screen size has various advantages –

  • Convenient and efficient game playing
  • More real estate means more information
  • Enhanced experience while watching videos

Due to this and other reasons (that I will cover in another post); I have been using iPhone as my secondary device and android devices as primary over the past 2-3 years. But with today’s release of iPhone 6 game has changed or will change for most users like me. Though the analysts says that only 5% android users will switch to apple but that might change over a period of time as apple is trying to be more flexible than ever; be it with their ecosystem or hardware that is offered.

I would like to state here that I always have valued functionality over brand or luxury. I am not a Sammy guy or Apple fanboy; whichever provides me with better value for money gets my money.

Coming to the specs here is a quick comparison chart :-

 

  iPhone 6 Plus iPhone 6 iPhone 5S My Opinion
Processor A8 64-bit A8 64-bit A7 64-bit Do I really care about this? It will be faster and we all know that
Camera 8MP 8MP 8MP Gimmicky details are not included. It was nice in 5S and has not improved much
Screen 5.5” 4.7” 4” Finally we are talking. Was hoping for 2K or Quad HD* resolution though.
Storage 16/64/128 GB 16/64/128 GB 16/32/64 GB New iPhones should have started at 32GB.As expected no microSD slot
Battery 14 hours video, 12 hours browsing 11 hours video, 11 hours browsing 10 hours video, 10 hours browsing iPhones have been good with battery life with normal usage but suffers from android-like battery syndrome for power users
NFC Yes Yes No Another long-awaited feature added. Can be used for mobile payments and I hope for usual NFC tasks as well e.g. NFC stickers**

* 2K / Quad HD resolution – new iPhone 6 and 6+ both have full HD i.e. 1920*1080 resolution. Equal to most TVs available in the market. However these days, android phones are coming up with 2K or Quad HD resolutions i.e. 2560*1440. From my experience it doesn’t looks any better when the two displays are compared. Still I hoped?

** NFC Stickers / Tags – Small coin sized stickers / tags that can hold few bytes of information. I have been using these since Galaxy S3 to store information like system settings, volume level etc. I have one in car which is used to turn bluetooth and GPS on and wifi off; other one is in my bedroom that is used to turn bluetooth and GPS off; and put the phone in vibrate mode so that I am not disturbed while sleeping. Read this for more info on NFC tags –

http://lifehacker.com/how-to-automate-your-phone-for-every-room-in-the-house-473409963

Leave a Reply

